Leanplum's user guides and developer documentation.

Account and team settings

Teams, roles, and permissions

In Leanplum, everything is structured under your "company," which can have multiple teams within it. Each team can have multiple apps, and team members can have unique roles and permissions.

Select the Team button at the top of your dashboard to view your Account and Team Settings.

In the left sidebar, you can navigate to your Account Settings or to any of your company's Teams.

Manage teams

Only Admin-level users can make changes to a team, including changing the permissions and roles of other team members.

Create a new team

In the top left corner, click the blue Create Team button. Then edit the team name at the top of the page (name defaults to “My Company, Inc”) and begin adding team members.

Delete a team

To protect your data, a team cannot be deleted if it has one or more apps in Leanplum. To delete a team, you'll have to delete every app in the team first. Then you can return to Team settings and click the trash icon next to the team name.

Manage team members

Add a new team member

To add a new team member, click Invite New Member at the top right corner. Type in the team member's full name, email address, and role. Click the + icon to send this new member an email invitation to the team. (If they are new to Leanplum, they'll need to register before getting started.)

Change a team member's role

To edit an existing team member's role, click the pen and paper icon next to their name. A dropdown menu will appear allowing you to assign a different role to that member. Click the checkmark icon to apply the change.

The roles dropdown menu lists the standard Leanplum roles and any Custom roles you have created. Each role has different permissions (read, draft, publish, etc.) for different areas of Leanplum.

The standard Leanplum roles are:

  • Admin – Full access.
  • Viewer – Can view content and analytics but cannot make changes or view API keys.
  • Member – Can view and edit content, analytics and API keys. Cannot create or delete apps or team information.
  • Marketer – Can edit analytics, edit messages, and view other content but cannot view API keys.
  • Analyst – Can edit analytics (create & edit reports) and view content but cannot view API keys.

Be very careful when giving Admin privileges in Leanplum. Admins can remove team members and even delete your app (and its data) altogether.

Remove a team member

Click the trash icon next to the team member's name to remove them from your Team. They will no longer be able to view or edit your Team's Leanplum apps. You can always re-add them later.

Restrict Leanplum access by IP address

You can restrict access to the Leanplum dashboard to a specific IP address as an added security feature. Restricting access will prevent team members who aren't on your IP address from accessing your team's dashboard.

Go to Team settings and click the edit pencil icon to set your Team's IP restriction. If there is more than one team at your organization, you'll have to set each team's IP restriction individually.